Latest Compliance News

To Vaccinate Or Not To Vaccinate… That Is The Question

*Produced in partnership with Jackson Lewis P.C. On December 11th, the U.S. Food and Drug Administration issued the first emergency use authorization for the COVID-19 vaccine.   As employers decide their path forward, there are many considerations that should be taken into account ...

Minimum Wage increases

Various jurisdictions have increased their minimum wage rates. Please review your non-exempt employees to ensure their pay rates meet or exceed the required minimum wage based on their work location.  Note: This is not a complete list of all minimum wage rates currently in ...

Upcoming Webinar: Unbias – Moving from awareness to action

2020 race relations in America awakened the collective consciousness of society resulting in many wanting to jump into positive action. But having uncomfortable conversations can be intimidating. What do you do when employees look to you to facilitate these difficult situations? Join us to learn ...

6 HR compliance trends to watch in 2021

In 2020, federal, state, and local governments enacted numerous employment laws in response to the COVID-19 pandemic. In addition to responding to the pandemic, state and local jurisdictions also adopted a number of laws and regulations that affect the way employers hire, pay, treat, and provide ...

California adopts new COVID-19 prevention requirements

The Department of Industrial Relations (DIR) has adopted emergency rules related to protecting workers from COVID-19, including a requirement for employers to adopt a written prevention program. The emergency rules take effect immediately. Coverage: The emergency rules apply to all employees ...

California issues information on its New Pay Data Reporting requirement

Background    As previously communicated, on September 30, 2020, California Governor Gavin Newsom signed into law Senate Bill 973, a new pay data reporting requirement. Covered employers will have to provide California's DFEH with pay data by specified job categories and by race, ...

Colorado clarifies overtime exemptions

The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment (CDLE) has released a new Colorado Overtime and Minimum Pay Standards Order (COMPS Order #37) that clarifies and adjusts certain exemptions from the state's overtime requirements. COMPS Order #37 takes effect January 1, 2021. Overtime ...

Colorado finalizes notice requirements for new COVID-19 laws

Colorado has adopted final rules that clarify the notice requirements under two new laws related to COVID-19. Background: In July, Colorado enacted the Public Health Emergency Whistleblowing Act (PHEW), which prohibits employers from taking adverse action against a worker who in good faith ...

Colorado minimum wage to increase January 1

Colorado's minimum wage will increase to $12.32 per hour on January 1, 2021. The change is a result of an annual adjustment for inflation. Tipped employees: The minimum direct cash wage for tipped employees will increase to $9.30 per hour on January 1, 2021. If a tipped employee's cash wages ...

Colorado updates Paid Sick Leave rules

The Colorado Department of Labor and Employment (CDLE) has issued final rules addressing the state's new paid sick leave requirements under the Healthy Families and Workplaces Act of 2020 (HFWA). Background: Colorado enacted the HFWA (Senate Bill 20-205) in July 2020 to require employers to ...

12

Resource Corner